Washington D.C. to Host Nation’s Largest LGBTQ Activist Conference in 2018

WASHINGTON, D.C., March 10, 2017—Celebrating its 30th year anniversary, the National LGBTQ Task Force’s Creating Change Conference will take place on January 24-28, 2018 at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park (2660 Woodley Road N.W., Washington, D.C. 20008). Over 3,000 lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) advocates, community  leaders, policy experts, and allies from across the country are expected to attend the conference.

“Creating Change is celebrating 30 years of training and mobilizing the next generation of social justice advocates and we want you to join!” said Rea Carey, National LGBTQ Task Force’s Executive Director. “We are energized to bring back our fight to the city where Creating Change started three decades ago. Furthermore, President Donald Trump’s litany of deplorable attacks on our freedom, justice, and equity represents a clear call-to-action. We encourage everyone to join us in our continued resistance of Trump’s divisive agenda.”

Since 1988, Creating Change has grown from 300 people to over 3,000 activists and community leaders from across the country and elsewhere in the world. The annual  five-day convening will include over 200 skills-building workshops, presentations, trainings, day-long  institutes, special receptions, plenary sessions, networking sessions, hospitality suites, interfaith services, and office visits with members of Congress. There  will also be actions against the Trump administration. 

The National LGBTQ Task Force will be hosting an informational meeting on how to join the conference host committee tonight, Tuesday, March 14 at 6:00 p.m. The meeting will take place at the National City Cristian Church (5 Thomas Circle N.W., Washington, D.C. 20005). Those interested in attending are encouraged to R.S.V.P. by sending an email to: creatingchange@thetaskforce.org

To learn more about the conference, please visit: www.creatingchange.org



Jorge Amaro
Media and Public Relations Director