Skip to content

National LGBTQ Task Force Honored for DEI Website and Mobile Site in 28th Annual Webby Awards 

National LGBTQ Task Force Honored in 28th Annual Webby Awards Black graphic says: "We're honored to be a Webby Honoree"; #WEBBYS; National LGBTQ Task Force; 28th Annual Webby Awards

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The National LGBTQ Task Force announced today that it has been honored for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Websites and Mobile Sites in the 28th Annual Webby Awards.

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards, presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS), is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet.

The National LGBTQ Task Force launched its new website in July of 2023 with industry-leading features allowing for greater online accessibility. Including a new set of fonts and brand colors following WCAG AA accessibility best practices for color contrast and font size, ensuring people with different abilities can navigate and easily interact with the site.

A key function builds in easy-to-access English-to-Spanish translation, which allows users to toggle between Spanish and English content with a click. This provides a seamless user experience in Spanish for Spanish-language readers seeking resources and information about LGBTQ issues.

This award represents a culmination of years dedicated to building inclusive spaces by the National LGBTQ Task Force, steeped in our values of creating safe and accessible spaces for everyone in our community and our allies. We are in an increasingly new and shifting reality that dictates how technology can and should bring us together. This recognition means so much to us and shows that we are indeed doing the values-rooted work that creates both radical welcome and radical accessibility for all.

Kierra Johnson, National LGBTQ Task Force Executive Director

The National LGBTQ Task Force retained RAD Campaign to design and develop the new website rooted in justice, equity, and accessibility that empowers users to easily get involved in our work for LGBTQ+ equity.

From book bans to drag bans to bans on gender-affirming care and the GOP’s relentless attacks on the LGBTQIA+ community, RAD Campaign had one big audacious goal – to create an accessible website that serves as a safe and inclusive space where every LGBTQIA+ person or ally feels welcome and seen, and is given the resources and power to get involved in some of the most  important issues of our lifetime.

Allyson Kapin, RAD Campaign Co-Founder

Honorees like the National LGBTQ Task Force are setting the standard for innovation and creativity on the Internet,” said Claire Graves, President of The Webby Awards. “It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the 13,000+ projects we reviewed this year.

IADAS, which nominates and selects The Webby Award Winners, is comprised of Internet industry experts including Marian Croak, VP of Engineering – Responsible AI & Human Centered Technology, Google; Sarah Harden, CEO, Hello Sunshine; Tobe Nwigwe, Artist & Actor; Shigetaka Kurita, Artist & Father of Emojis; Severin Hacker, Cofounder & CTO, Duolingo; Law Roach, Image Architect; Yann LeCun, VP & Chief AI Scientist, Meta; Roxane Gay, Host, The Roxane Gay Agenda; Quinta Brunson, Writer, Director and Actor; Questlove, DJ and Producer; Todd Kaplan, Chief Marketing Officer, Pepsi Co; Ashley Murphy, VP Global Consumer Marketing, Rare Beauty; Nelly Mensah, VP of Digital Innovation, Global Head of Web3 and Metaverse, LVMH; Jim Habig, Vice President Marketing, LinkedIn; and Tonya Custis, Director of AI Research, Autodesk.

About The National LGBTQ Task Force

The National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice, and equality for LGBTQ people. We are building a future where everyone can be free to be their entire selves in every aspect of their lives. Today, despite all the progress we have made to end discrimination, millions of LGBTQ people face barriers in every aspect of their lives: in housing, employment, healthcare, retirement, and basic human rights. Those barriers must go.

Find The Webby Awards Online

Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards 
X/Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards 
Tiktok: @thewebbyawards 
LinkedIn: The Webby Awards 

About the Webby Awards

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites and Mobile Sites; Video; Advertising, Media and PR; Apps & Software, Social; Podcasts; Games and AI, Metaverse & Virtual. Established in 1996, The Webby Awards received 13,000 entries from all 50 states and over 70 countries worldwide this year. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include WP Engine, LinkedIn, Verizon, YouGov, NAACP, KPMG, Wall Street Journal, Fast Company, Vox Media, The Hustle, Podcast Movement, It’s Nice That, Convince & Convert, The Neuron, The Gradient, Last Week in AI, MKT1, Bens Bites, The Tilt, Orangeletter, AIGA and The Standard Hotel.

Cathy Renna, Communications Director, National LGBTQ Task Force, 917-757-6123, [email protected]

Related Press Releases

Understanding Intersectional Data Equity: From the Sexual Orientation Gender Identity Sexual Characteristics (SOGISC or SOGI) Lens April 2024 Clermon E. Acklin III, ESQ on behalf of the National LGBTQ Task Force
April 29, 2024

Health Equity Cannot Be Achieved Without Data Equity

Data Equity Coalition calls for standardized data collection methods around race, ethnicity, language (REL), sexual orientation, gender identity (SOGI), and disability status through a new series of issue briefs.
South Carolina head coach Dawn Staley celebrates after the Final Four college basketball championship game against Iowa in the women's NCAA Tournament, Sunday, April 7, 2024, in Cleveland. South Carolina won 87-75.
April 8, 2024

Black Leaders In The LGBTQIA Movement Applaud University Of South Carolina Head Coach Dawn Staley For Standing Up For Trans Athlete Inclusion

On Sunday, April 7, the University of South Carolina’s women’s basketball team won the NCAA National Championship. Ahead of the championship game, South Carolina’s head coach, Dawn Staley, made comments in support of transgender athlete inclusion in sports when she was pressed by a media member on the topic.
Movement Moments: The National LGBTQ Task Force at 50 National LGBTQ Task Force Logo in white; 1973 - 2023
March 31, 2023

National LGBTQ Task Force Debuts New Podcast Series Highlighting 50 Years of Advocacy, Organizing, and Intersectionality on International Transgender Day of Visibility

The National LGBTQ Task Force – the country’s oldest LGBTQ+ advocacy organization –  launched a new limited podcast series in honor of their 50th anniversary. Movement Moments: The National LGBTQ Task Force at 50 will span 6 episodes and feature deep discussions on topical issues facing the LGBTQ+ community today, including attacks on the trans community and the role of faith in the movement while also reflecting on key moments throughout National LGBTQ Task Force history.