National LGBTQ Task Force
 
Menu
https://www.thetaskforce.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/CreatingChange-banner.jpg

CREATING CHANGE 2021: SCHEDULE AT A GLANCE

← BACK TO CREATING CHANGE HOMEPAGE

This year's Creating Change conference may be virtual, but our Day-Long Institutes, caucuses, workshops, and plenaries will still give you the opportunity to learn and connect with thousands of other people across the country. It's not all about skill-building and learning, though—there's still time for fun with events like the Opening Cruise, Agents of Change Ball, and game nights! Learn more below, get more details from the full schedule, and register here to join us.

Thursday, January 28, 2021

Opening Plenary

Noon to 1:00 pm ET / 9:00 to 10:00 am PT

Keynote by Natalie Diaz and a Black Leadership Panel moderated by the National Black Justice Coalition.

Day Long Institutes, Part 1

1:15 to 6:15 pm ET / 10:15 am to 3:15 pm PT

  • Indigenous Fortitude & Brilliance
  • Queer & Trans API Institute: Building a Queer Asian American & Pacific Islander Movement
  • The Black Institute: State of the Black LGBTQ Movement
  • Unión=Fuerza Latinx Institute
  • White People's Institute for Ending Racism: What Kind of Ancestors Shall We Be?

Exhibit Hall Open House

6:15 to 7:00 pm ET / 3:15 to 4:00 pm PT

Visit our sponsors and exhibitors in the virtual exhibit hall and win prizes and Task Force swag!

Film Screening and Q&A: CURED

7:30 to 9:00 pm ET / 4:30 to 6:00 pm PT

Five years in the making, CURED illuminates a pivotal yet largely unknown chapter in the struggle for LGBTQ equality: the campaign that led the American Psychiatric Association (APA) to remove homosexuality from its manual of mental illnesses in 1973.

Opening Cruise

9:00 to 11:00 pm ET / 6:00 to 8:00 pm PT

What’s the connection you won’t forget at CC21? The Sexual Liberation Collective and the Creating Change sex track organizers are delighted to bring you the Opening Cruise. Whether you’re looking to find a new friend, a sexy hook-up, or the love of your life, the Opening Cruise is the place to be on Thursday night!

Friday, January 29, 2021

Day Long Institutes, Part 2

Noon to 5:00 pm ET / 9:00 am to 2:00 pm PT

  • Aromantic and Asexual Institute        
  • Bi Any Means Necessary: Strength in Numbers for the Fight Ahead 
  • Disability Justice Day Long Institute  
  • Executive Director/CEO Institute: Thriving in an Age of COVID: Unprecedented Demands for Racial Justice and after Four Years of the Trump Administration   
  • Faith in a Virtual World           
  • Mapping Your Desire: The Sexual Liberation Institute           
  • Owning Your Power: Strategies to Strengthen the Next Generation of Leaders to End the HIV Epidemic        
  • The Fire This Time! Youth Activism, Mobilizing and Direct Action 101       
  • Trans and Non-binary Institute

Keynote Session with Dominique Jackson

5:30 to 6:30 pm ET / 2:30 to 3:30 pm PT

Emcee Sandra Valls hosts a plenary session featuring a keynote speech by POSE’s Dominique Jackson, plus presentations for the Susan J. Hyde Award for Longevity in the Movement and Evelyn & Walter Haas Jr. Fund Award for Outstanding LGBTQ Leadership for Immigration Rights, and more!

Agents of Change Ball

8:00 to 11:00 pm ET / 5:00 to 8:00 pm PT

Organized by WC Father Angel Revlon (CA), Lady Penelope (NYC) and Legendary Oso Milan (Miami) with national judges and benefitting the House Lives Matter Mutual Aid Fund, brings the House Ball to your house this year.

Game Night

8:00 to 11:00 pm ET / 5:00 to 8:00 pm PT

Want to have some wholesome fun? Come to our virtual game night! No need for special equipment. No need to own copies of games. Just bring your fabulous self. There will be various party games over zoom including 5 Second Rule and Jackbox. Also on offer will be a Dungeons & Dragons one shot! D&D spots are limited and first come, first served. Email Cary Webb at cwebb@thetaskforce.org for sign up and game details.

Saturday, January 30, 2021

Workshop Sessions, Block 1

Noon to 1:15 pm ET / 9:00 to 10:15 am PT

  • An Exploration of Queer and Trans Ministry 
  • Two Spirit 101
  • Hopes and Dreams: Reaching High on Policy Advocacy in 2021             
  • These are a Few of my Favorite Things           
  • Hiring Revolution        
  • We’re Here, We’re Queer…and We are on Deadline: LGBTQ Journalists, the State of LGBTQ Media and How to Get Your Story Told!       
  • Let’s Break The Binary and the Carceral State: Queers Abolishing Prisons and Policing           
  • Aging in the LBGTQ Community: Strategies for Fighting Isolation and Loneliness          

Workshop Sessions, Block 2

1:30 to 2:45 pm ET / 10:30 to 11:45 am PT

  • Liberating Your Divine Identity: A Spiritual Conversation     
  • Queering the Academy: Affirming Queer Ways of Knowing, Learning, & Education
  • Vice President Auntie? Organizing Friendly Administrations for Systemic Change  
  • Sexy Survivors              
  • Deaf Queer Liberation: Our Time is Now       
  • Trans Talk Across Generations: Teens and Trailblazers, Truths and Tensions  
  • Ace and Aro Q&A: An Introduction to Asexuality and Aromanticism

State of the Movement Plenary

3:15 to 4:30 pm ET / 11:15 am to 1:30 pm PT

Rea Carey and Kierra Johnson deliver the annual state of the movement, along with presentation of the SAGE Award to Mama Gloria, more from emcee Sandra Valls, and some other surprises!

Caucus Sessions, Round 1

5:00 to 6:15 pm ET / 2:00 to 3:15 pm PT

  • Two Spirit Caucus        
  • Ace + Aro Caucus        
  • Youth Caucus 
  • Black Caucus  
  • Bi+ Caucus #1 
  • Deaf Caucus    
  • Masculine-of-Center Caucus  
  • Latinx Caucus 
  • Sex Worker Caucus     

Game Night

8:00 to 11:00 pm ET / 5:00 to 8:00 pm PT

Want to have some wholesome fun? Come to our virtual game night! No need for special equipment. No need to own copies of games. Just bring your fabulous self. There will be various party games over zoom including 5 Second Rule and Jackbox. Also on offer will be a Dungeons & Dragons one shot! D&D spots are limited and first come, first served. Email Cary Webb at cwebb@thetaskforce.org for sign up and game details.

Open Mic

8:00 to 11:00 pm ET / 5:00 to 8:00 pm PT

Sunday, January 31, 2021

Interfaith Service

10:00 to 11:30 am ET / 7:00 to 8:30 am PT

Workshop Sessions, Block 3

Noon to 1:15 pm ET / 9:00 to 10:15 am PT

  • Turning Your Sermon into a Sound-bite         
  • Indigenous Youth & Elder Panel         
  • Sex in the Time of Corona      
  • From Trans Self-Advocacy to Trans Communal Activism       
  • Ending the Harm: Conversion Therapy Fact, Fiction and Fighting for our Lives 
  • Family Acceptance Project:  Helping Diverse Families to Support and Affirm Their LGBTQ Children During Covid-19 and Beyond             
  • Sexual Health for System-Impacted Youth
  • Disrupting Anti-Trans Feminists     

Workshop Sessions, Block 4

1:30 to 2:45 pm ET / 10:30 to 11:45 am PT

  • Wonderfully Made: Yuval David Film Preview and Discussion
  • Decolonizing Desire    
  • Cultivating the “In Between”: Bi-Plus Inclusion on College Campuses        
  • What in the L?!: All Things Lesbian    
  • Queering the Census Today and Tomorrow  
  • Queering Immigration
  • Indigenous Trans Women       
  • Social Support & Safe Spaces: Preventing LGBTQ Youth Suicide
  • Fundraising on a Dime: Budget-Friendly Digital Fundraising Tools for People-Powered Movements          

Caucus Sessions, Round 2

3:00 to 4:15 pm ET / Noon to 1:15 pm PT

  • Jewish Caucus
  • Elder Caucus
  • Muslim Caucus
  • Lesbian Caucus   
  • Trans + Nonbinary Caucus      
  • PLWHA Caucus             
  • API Caucus      
  • Bi+ Caucus #2 
  • Disability Caucus         

Closing Plenary

4:45 to 6:45 pm ET / 1:45 to 3:45 pm PT

Emcee Sandra Valls, keynote by adrienne maree brown, presentation of the Leather Leadership Award, and performances by Big Freedia!