National LGBTQ Task Force Press Advisory: 30th Creating Change Conference Jan. 24 – 28 at Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, DC

The National LGBTQ Task Force is hosting its 2018 Creating Change Conference from Wednesday, January 24 through Sunday, January 28 at the Marriott Wardman Park in Washington DC. This year, Creating Change is celebrating its 30th anniversary with the theme: Learn. Connect. Resist.

Thousands of LGBTQ progressives will gather in Washington, DC, just one year after the inauguration of the most divisive president in modern American history — which presents a unique opportunity to report on the state of the movement and how the LGBTQ community resists.

Creating Change:

The Creating Change Conference is sponsored and organized by the National LGBTQ Task Force. Creating Change 2018 is the 30th anniversary of the conference. The Creating Change Conference is the foremost political, leadership, and skills-building conference for the LGBTQ social justice movement. Since 1988, Creating Change has created opportunities for many thousands of committed people to develop and hone their skills, celebrate victories, build community, and to be inspired by visionaries of our LGBTQ movement and allied movements for justice and equality.

The primary goal of the Creating Change Conference is to build the LGBTQ movement’s political power from the ground up to secure our overarching goal of full freedom, justice, and equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people in the United States. Rea Carey, executive director of the National LGBTQ Task Force will reflect on the last year and the work ahead.

Creating Change will include special guests Andrea Jenkins, the first openly transgender Black woman elected to public office, Farhana Khera, the executive director of Muslim Advocates, Urvashi Vaid, Indian-American LGBTQ rights activist and former executive director of the Task Force, and Diego Sanchez, the first openly transgender staff member on Capitol Hill.

Creating Change will be honoring Sue Hyde who leaves the Task Force after 30 years of organizing Creating Change; Miss Major Griffin-Gracy will receive the Susan J. Hyde Award for Longevity in the Movement at the Friday, Jan. 26 plenary.

Press Credentials:

Press are invited to the conference, and press credentials are given out as space provides. Press do need to register via our credentials request form. Press that complete this form by December 20 will be notified no later than December 31. Those seeking early confirmation of December 15 must fill out the form no later than December 11. Requests after Dec. 20 will receive responses in roughly one to two weeks time.

Creating Change Schedule is available on