U.S. Supreme Court Action Ushers In Marriage Equality to 30 States

Court’s Denial to Review Lower Court Decisions Expands Number of States with Marriage Rights for Same-Sex Couples

WASHINGTON, DC, Oct. 6, 2014 — Today the United States Supreme Court denied review of seven federal appeals court decisions striking down marriage bans in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The Court’s action clears the way for same-sex couples to marry in those states and any other state with similar bans in those circuits, bringing the total number of states with marriage equality to thirty.

“We are ecstatic to hear that same-sex couples will soon be able to marry in thirty states, the District of Columbia, and ten Native American jurisdictions. And while we hoped that the U.S. Supreme Court would decide on the issue of marriage for all fifty states, we are resolute in our work to secure justice, fairness, and equality for all.

“For millions of hardworking LGBTQ people and our families, we still live in a society that denies us explicit nondiscrimination protections, voting rights, a pathway to citizenship, access to life-saving health care and reproductive rights, and many other basic and fundamental rights.

“As we continue building on the progress we’ve made on marriage equality we must remain committed to our nation’s promise of America.”

— Rea Carey, Executive Director, National Gay and Lesbian Task Force


To learn more about the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, follow us on Twitter: @TheTaskForce.

Media Contacts:
Mark Daley
Chief Communications and Marketing Officer
(Office) 202.639.6325
(Cell) 202.379.8318

Jorge Amaro
Media and Public Relations Director
(Office) 202.639.6306
(Cell) 213.842.7564