National LGBTQ Task Force’s Victoria Kirby York to receive DC Black Pride Leadership Award

Washington DC, May 12, 2016 — Victoria Kirby York, the National LGBTQ Task Force’s National Campaigns Director, is to receive the DC Black Pride Leadership Award later this month at a glittering reception in our nation’s capital.

“Victoria is a great leader, advocate, activist and colleague,” said Rea Carey, National LGBTQ Task Force Executive Director. “We are delighted that she is being recognized in this very special way.”

Presented by the Center for Black Equity, other 2016 awardees include: D.C. Mayor, Muriel Bowser who will receive the Eleanor Holmes Norton Award; Victory Fund Executive Director, Aisha Moody-Mills and local attorney, Darrin L. Glymph who will receive the Welmore Cook Award; and, HIV/AIDS activist, Guy Anthony who will receive the DC Black Pride Leadership Award. DC Black Pride volunteer, Jason Lyric will receive the Charlotte Smallwood Volunteer of the Year Award.

The awards will be presented at the 26th DC Black Pride Awards Reception on Tuesday, May 24 from 6:30 to 8:30 PM in Washington, DC. Tickets are $10 and can be purchased at


Jorge Amaro
Media and Public Relations Director