National LGBTQ Task Force to Host 20th Annual Miami Gala

MIAMI, FL, January 12, 2016— The National LGBTQ Task Force has announced it will host the 2016 National LGBTQ Task Force Gala – Miami, formerly known as the Miami Recognition Dinner, on Saturday, October 8, 2016 at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. The annual fundraising gala honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the work to expand basic rights and protections for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) people.

“In the last year alone, we’ve made tremendous leaps forward in the work to secure full equality for LGBTQ people. As we continue building on that momentum, it’s important that we take time to recognize the heroic work of our community’s tireless leaders,” said Russell Roybal, deputy executive director, National LGBTQ Task Force. “The National LGBTQ Task Force Gala – Miami also provides individuals and companies with the opportunity to contribute to our work to advance freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people across the nation, while also supporting multiple South Florida organizations with one donation.”

The annual festivities include a hosted cocktail reception, silent auction, gourmet dinner, live entertainment, awards ceremony and after-party. Previous gala honorees include activist and actor George Takei, civil rights attorney Mary Bonauto, retired Navy SEAL Kristen Beck, and actor Alan Cumming, among others. Last year’s gala raised over $625,000 and had 675 guests in attendance. Photos of last year’s gala are available online here.

“I’m thrilled to co-chair the event committee again as we continue to raise awareness and critical funding required to eliminate barriers to equality,” said Charles Million, co-chair, National LGBTQ Task Force Gala – Miami. “In addition to supporting the important work of the the National LGBTQ Task Force, the proceeds from this event help over 70 local organizations provide services to the South Florida community. We are proud to work with The Miami Foundation’s GLBT Community Projects Fund, which distributes the funds to a variety of deserving advocacy, arts, education, community, social and youth services organizations.”

Charles Million and Bill Hahne will serve as co-chairs of this year’s event. Other members of the gala’s all-volunteer event committee include Greg Boan, Mary-Joe Castells, Amy Crismond, Oliver Davis, Matt Dzwonkiewicz, Liebe Gadinsky, Bryce Goodwin, Paul Kelly, Kristin Klein, Tim Nardi, Robin Schwartz and Patrick Whiteside.

To learn more about the gala, please visit


Jorge Amaro
Media and Public Relations Director