2010 D.C. Recognition Evening 2010 D.C. Recognition Evening 2010 D.C. Recognition Evening 2010 D.C. Recognition Evening
Most Successful Miami Recognition Dinner EVER!
More than 35 sponsors and over 725 guests all contributed to making the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force's 14th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner, presented by Wachovia, a Wells Fargo company, the most financially successful in the event's history. Buoyed by a silent auction that raised over $110,000, the Recognition Dinner, which was held on Saturday, October 2, at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach, grossed more than $400,000.

Hosted by actor Wilson Cruz, the formal program segment included a speech by National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Executive Director Rea Carey, a musical performance by jazz sensation Nicole Henry and a video showcasing the Task Force's work and the unique relationship the organization has with South Florida.

In a wonderfully symbolic moment, Ruth Shack presented the 2010 Humanitarian Award to Miami-Dade County Commissioner Katy Sorenson. As a Dade County Commissioner in the late 1970's, Shack successfully worked to have "sexual orientation" added to the county's antidiscrimination laws, only to see her measure repealed after a campaign led by Anita Bryant and the Save Our Children Coalition. Sorenson, who will retire from the commission this year, championed the inclusion of sexual orientation to the county's antidiscrimination laws in the late 1990's and defended it against repeal in 2002.

Cindy Brown, who retired from the MRD committee two years ago and holds the record for most years planning the event, was awarded with the 2010 Eddy McIntyre Community Service Award. Brown, who has leant her time and skills to many organizations serving the Miami-Dade LGBT community, was instrumental in the successful re-launch of Miami Beach Gay Pride last year and continues to serve as its Operations Director.

The 2010 National Leadership Award was presented to activist and Tony award-winning actor Alan Cumming, currently starring on the CBS series The Good Wife, for his unapologetic advocacy of many civil rights and HIV/AIDs causes.

Alcohol for the event was provided by Grey Goose Vodka, one of the Task Force's national corporate partners, and champagne and wine were donated by Veuve Clicquot.

Wachovia, a Wells Fargo Company, was presenting sponsor of the event. Platinum sponsors included Burger King Corporation, Dade Community Foundation, Liebe & Seth Gadinsky, The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Showtime Networks and the Stonewall Community Foundation's James G. Pepper Fund. Gold sponsors included Akerman, Richard Milstein & Eric Hankin; Alberto Arias & Wood Kinnard; AT&T; Bilzin Sumberg; Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida; Bradley Carlson; City of Miami Beach; Karen Costello & Rosemary Wilder; Greenberg Traurig; Stephen Herbits; JPMorgan; Kraft Foods; Northern Trust; The Palace; Ryder Charitable Foundation; Sara Lee; Joan Schaeffer; Shore Club Miami; and Williamson Cadillac-Buick. The VIP Reception was presented by Brinker International.

All combined net proceeds from the 14th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner and the 2011 Winter Party Festival next March benefit organizations serving the LGBT community. The Task Force donates two-thirds of the combined net proceeds to the Miami-Dade LGBT community through the GLBT Community Projects Fund administered by the Dade Community Foundation. The remaining one-third of the net proceeds helps fund the Task Force's efforts to achieve equality for all LGBT people. In 2010, the Task Force presented the Foundation with its largest contribution to date, over $203,000. Grants were then awarded to 18 organizations serving the local LGBT community.
Liebe & Seth Gadinsky

Stonewall Community Foundation — James G. Pepper Fund
©2010 National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation, 1325 Massachusetts Ave NW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005. Phone 202.393.5177.
Fax 202.393.2241. TTY 202.393.2284. theTaskForce@theTaskForce.org.