2012 Pink & Purple Weekend 2012 Pink & Purple Weekend 2012 Pink & Purple Weekend 2012 Pink & Purple Weekend
Our second Pink & Purple weekend was an incredible success!
The Task Force held its 2nd annual Pink & Purple Weekend in Washington, DC, May 4-6 2012.

On Friday, May 4, we kicked off the weekend with a women's event. Pink & Purple Sunset was held atop the Liaison Hotel around their beautiful pool on a gorgeous spring evening. DJ Whitney Day (who spins all over the world) debuted in DC to rave reviews!

Immediately following the women's event, we held Pink & Purple Party at popular local gay club Cobalt. The place was packed with people and with delicious Jello shots. DJ Paulo, one of the premier gay DJs in the country and a recent Winter Party Festival DJ, spun all night.

On Sunday, the final day of Pink & Purple Weekend, we hosted the Pink & Purple Recognition Awards at the gorgeous Mayflower Hotel. Guests were able to spend the first hour relaxing and mingling over 42Below cocktails. At 11:30am, Rea Carey delivered her Toast to the Movement speech. This year she focused on a young man she met at Creating Change and his journey with the DREAM Act, immigration and marriage and why the Task Force is a multi-issue organization.

The program during the brunch included a live auction featuring items from Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams, a Winter Party Festival vacation package and a local DC business package. Russell Roybal welcomed everyone, thanked our sponsors and introduced Darlene Nipper. Darlene brought Sharon Lettman from the National Black Justice Coalition to the stage to present the Leadership Award to Dee Rees, who wrote and directed Pariah. Dee was unfortunately able to attend but sent a message thanking the Task Force.

Following the meal and auction, Russell brought up a very special guest, the U.S. Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis, to help him present the Leadership Award to Ingrid Duran & Catherine Pino. Board member Kierra Johnson and Action Fund board member Monique Hall thanked guests for coming and said goodbye.

We'd like to give special thanks to this year's hard-working Steering Committee, which consisted of past members such as Former Board Member Jerry Clark, Vice Chair of the Board Hans Johnson and Board Member Kierra Johnson. Action Fund Board Member Monique Hall led our sponsorship efforts and former Creating Change Co-Chair, Matt Thorn, joined the committee as well as Sheryl Eastman.

The Task Force also extends our heartfelt thanks to our Platinum Sponsors Comcast and Communications Workers of America (CWA), to our Gold Sponsors Brownies for Good, Sanford & Doris Slavin Foundation and Time Warner, to our Silver Sponsors American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), Ruth Eisenberg/Harmon, Curran, Spielberg + Eisenberg LLP, Microsoft and PG&E, to our Bronze Sponsors National Stonewall Democrats and Walmart, to our Host Committee Miguel A. Ayala, Choice USA, D&P Creative Strategies, Inc., Norelie Garcia, Ruben J. Gonzales & Joaquin Tamayo, Monique Hall, Eddy Morales, David M. Perez & Gary D. James, Matt Thorn & Michael LeMasters, to our Kickoff Underwriters (and staff!) Anabel Evora and Russell Roybal and finally, to our partners 42 Below, the Advocate, Mark's List, Mautner Project, PhatGirlChic, Washington Blade and Zoom Excursions.
©2012 National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation and National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Action Fund, 1325 Massachusetts Ave NW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005. Phone 202-393-5177. Fax 202-393-2241. TTY 202-393-2284. theTaskForce@theTaskForce.org.