15th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner 15th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner 15th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner 15th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner
Most Successful Miami Recognition Dinner EVER!
View the photo gallery     View the video

Georg Ketelhohn (Eddy McIntyre Community Service Award recipient), Executive Director Rea Carey and Ben Cohen (Humanitarian Award recipient)

It's not too late to make a donation to the Miami Recognition Dinner!
See what silent auction items are still available to buy
More than 35 sponsors and 775 guests contributed to another record-breaking year for the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force's 15th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner, presented by Wells Fargo, on Saturday, October 15, at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach. The silent auction also surpassed all previous years, raising over $120,000, and a new text-to-pledge component netted almost $20,000 more. While the numbers are still being tallied, the event is expected to have grossed well over $460,000!

The 2011 Eddy McIntyre Community Service Award was presented to Georg Ketelhohn, a longtime activist for LGBT civil rights, after a moving video introduction. Former professional baseball player Billy Bean presented our 2011 Humanitarian Award to Ben Cohen, the rugby superstar who retired earlier this year to devote his life to the Ben Cohen StandUp Foundation, the first foundation to combat bullying.

The stage presentation was sponsored by Showtime Networks' The L Word: The Complete Series DVD, and The L Word actress Pam Grier appeared on stage and introduced Task Force Executive Director Rea Carey. The ceremony ended at 10:15 p.m., and many of our guests stayed to enjoy dancing to the music of DJ Karin Ward.

Spirits for the event was provided by Grey Goose Vodka, one of the Task Force's national corporate partners, and champagne and wine were donated by Perrier & Jouet, Jacob's Creek and Mumm Napa Valley. The VIP reception was presented by Brinker International.

Platinum sponsors included Liebe & Seth Gadinsky, The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, Northern Trust, Shore Club and Stonewall Community Foundation - James G. Pepper. Gold sponsors included Akerman, Richard Milstein & Eric Hankin; Alberto Arias & Wood Kinnard; AT&T; Bradley Carlson & Austin Alan; Bilzin Sumberg; Blue Cross Blue Shield of Florida; Chase; Delano; FPL; Greenberg Traurig; Merrill Lynch Wealth Management; The Miami Foundation; Mondrian; MorganStanleySmithBarney; The Palace; Lee Rubin & Jim Walker; Ryder Charitable Foundation; Shutts & Bowen LLP; Siegfried Rivera Lemer De La Torre & Sobel; and Temple Israel & Joan Schaeffer

All combined net proceeds from the 15th Annual Miami Recognition Dinner and the 2011 Winter Party Festival next March benefit organizations serving the LGBT community. The Task Force donates the majority of the combined net proceeds to the Miami-Dade LGBT community through the GLBT Community Projects Fund administered by The Miami Foundation; the remainder helps fund the Task Force's efforts to achieve equality for all LGBT people. To date, the Task Force has donated over $1 million to the Fund.
Liebe & Seth Gadinsky

Stonewall Community Foundation - James G. Pepper Fund
©2011 National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation and National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Action Fund, 1325 Massachusetts Ave NW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005. Phone 202.393.5177. Fax 202.393.2241. TTY 202.393.2284. theTaskForce@theTaskForce.org.