Recognizing outstanding transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals in the struggle for LGBT equality

June 10, 2009

Inga Sarda-Sorensen
Director of Communications
(Office) 646.358.1463
(Cell) 202.641.5592

ICS media contact:
Nicole Murray-Ramirez
San Diego City Commissioner
(Phone) 619.692.1967

WASHINGTON, June 10 — In honor of the 40th anniversary of Stonewall, the International Court System, in collaboration with the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, is recognizing 40 transgender and gender- nonconforming individuals for their contribution toward lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) equality.

To mark this occasion, the International Court System is showcasing these "40 Trans Heroes" on its Web site at to highlight the importance of the transgender and gender-nonconforming community as an equal and important part of the broader LGBT community. The "40 Trans Heroes" were solicited and selected from hundreds of nominations by a special committee of the International Court Council.

"This is by no means a complete list or a 'best of' or 'top 10' list. It is merely a beginning tribute to the thousands of transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals that have made our modern-day movement possible," says Thom Hansen, president of the International Court Council. "This momentous tribute to the transgender community is a long time coming. The International Court System is honored to partner with the Task Force. Together, we pay tribute to those whose lives and works have impacted each and every one of us."

"On the 40th anniversary of the Stonewall riots, let's remember the legacy of those who started our struggle for equality and liberation," says Rea Carey, executive director of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force. "Recognizing 40 of the many transgender and gender-nonconforming individuals who have worked tirelessly and passionately in favor of full LGBT equality throughout these four decades is a reminder of the determination and persistence of the transgender community and of the human spirit. Let's continue to honor these important contributions toward a more just and equal society for all of us."

The International Court System will present a commemorative plaque inscribed with the names of these outstanding individuals on June 25 to be placed at the Stonewall Inn.

For more information about the International Court System and "Stonewall 40 — 40 Trans Heroes," please visit

“40 Trans Heroes”

Sylvia Rivera, Shannon Price Minter, Mara Keisling, Jose Julio Sarria, Ru Paul, Marsha Botzer, Nicole Murray-Ramirez, Norma Kristie, Masen Davis, Melissa Sklarz, Lady Bunny, Leslie Feinberg, Gunner Scott, Lynn Conway, Chi Chi LaRue, Marsha P. Johnson, Riki Wilchins, Barbra Casbar Siperstein, Yosenio Lewis, Robin Tyler, Coco LaChine, Valerie Spencer, Jim Flynn, Nancy Nangeroni, Lady Chablis, Rosalinda dela Luna, Cecilia Chung, Loren Cameron, Maria Roman, Theresa Sparks, Karina Samala, Grace Sterling Stowell, Donna Sachet, Shirley Bushnell, Cole Thaler, Darcelle, Jamison Green, Sister Roma, Billy deFrank, Frank Marino.

To learn more about the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, follow us on Twitter: @TheTaskForce.


The mission of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is to build the grassroots power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community. We do this by training activists, equipping state and local organizations with the skills needed to organize broad-based campaigns to defeat anti-LGBT referenda and advance pro-LGBT legislation, and building the organizational capacity of our movement. Our Policy Institute, the movement’s premier think tank, provides research and policy analysis to support the struggle for complete equality and to counter right-wing lies. As part of a broader social justice movement, we work to create a nation that respects the diversity of human expression and identity and creates opportunity for all. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., we also have offices in New York City, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis and Cambridge.