Delaware poised to become 11th marriage equality state as bill heads to governor

May 07, 2013


Inga Sarda-Sorensen
Director of Communications
(Office) 646.358.1463
(Cell) 202.641.5592

WASHINGTON, May 7 — The Delaware Senate today passed legislation granting same-sex couples the freedom to marry. The bill already cleared the House and now shifts to Gov. Jack Markell, who has vowed to sign it. Delaware is poised to join 10 other states plus the District of Columbia in legalizing the freedom to marry for same-sex couples. Just last week, Rhode Island Gov. Lincoln Chafee signed that state's marriage equality bill into law.

Statement by Rea Carey, Executive Director
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force

"The momentum for the freedom to marry continues to roll on. We are thrilled for the loving, committed same-sex couples and families in Delaware who will soon be able to join in the celebration and responsibilities of marriage without having to cross state lines to Maryland. We offer a hearty congrats to them, to Equality Delaware and to everyone working so hard to secure marriage equality for all Delawareans. The transformative nature of people talking about their love and their lives is clear, as we see with this victory today, and in the fact that a clear and ever-growing majority of Americans supports marriage equality."

To learn more about the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, follow us on Twitter: @TheTaskForce.


The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force builds the power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community from the ground up. The Task Force is the country's premier social justice organization fighting to improve the lives of LGBT people and working to create positive, lasting change and opportunity for all. The Task Force is a 501(c)(3) corporation incorporated in Washington, D.C. Contributions to the Task Force are tax-deductible to the full extent allowed by law. © 2013, National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, 1325 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Suite 600, Washington, D.C., 20005. Phone 202.393.5177. TTY 202.393.2284.