Action in Connecticut Needed to Pass Hate Crimes Bill

April 28, 2004

Roberta Sklar, Director of Communications


UPDATE - MAY 30, 2004 -
The following bill passed 33-0 today. Thanks, as always, for responding so quickly to our action alert. Your contact with elected officials does make a difference.

The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force has been assisting activists in Connecticut pass a hate crimes bill that would add anti-transgender crimes to the state's hate crimes law. The bill has passed the House and is now waiting in the state Senate. Please follow the instructions in the action alert from our colleagues at the Connecticut Hate Crimes Network below.



HB #5657, An Act Concerning Hate Crimes, which will add "gender identity or expression" and "disability" as protected categories to our state's hate crime bill, recently passed through the House with a 139-4 vote. It is extremely critical that we continue to make phone calls and send emails to our senators to ensure that the bill is both raised and moved successfully through the Senate. Please take a moment to call or email both the leadership of the Senate (marked with an asterisk *) and your senator to ensure that this vital and necessary legislation becomes law.

If you do not know who your senator is, go to and use your zip code to find out.

Senator John Fonfara (D) District 1 (Hartford, Wethersfield) 860-240-0484 (c)

Senator Eric Coleman (D) District 2 (Bloomfield, Hartford, Windsor) 860-240-0002 (c)

Senator Gary LeBeau (D) District 3 (East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington, South Windsor) 860-240-0511 (c)

Senator Mary Ann Handley (D) District 4 (Bolton, Glastonbury, Manchester, Marlborough) 860-240-0498 (c)

*Senator Kevin Sullivan (D) District 5 (West Hartford, Bloomfield, Farmington, Burlington) 860-240-8600 (c)

Senator Donald DeFronzo (D) District 6 (New Britain, Berlin, Farmington) 860-240-0411 (c)

Senator John Kissel (R) District 7 (East Granby, Enfield, Granby, Somers, Suffield, Windsor, Windsor Locks) 860-240-0531 (c)

Senator Thomas Herlihy (R) District 8 (Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, Granby, Hartland, Harwinton, New Hartford, Norfolk, Simsbury, Torrington) 860-240-0428 (c)

Senator Biagio "Billy" Ciotto (D) District 9 (Cromwell, Middletown, Newington, Rocky Hill, Wethersfield) 860-240-0595 (c)

Senator Toni Nathaniel Harp (D) District 10 (New Haven, West Haven) 860-240-0567 (c)

*Senator Martin Looney (D) District 11 (New Haven, Hamden) 860-240-0460 (c)

*Senator William Aniskovich (R) District 12 (Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison, North Branford) 860-240-0596 (c)

Senator Thomas Gaffey (D) District 13 (Cheshire, Meriden, Middlefield, Middletown) 860-240-0425 (c)

Senator Win Smith (R) District 14 (Milford, Orange, West Haven) 860-240-0529 (c)

Senator Joan Hartley (D) District 15 (Naugatuck, Prospect, Waterbury) 860-240-8600 (c)

Senator Christopher Murphy (D) District 16 (Cheshire, Southington, Waterbury, Wolcott) 860-240-0567 (c)

Senator Joseph Crisco (D) District 17 (Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Derby, Hamden, Naugatuck, Woodbridge) 860-240-0390 (c)

Senator Catherine Cook (R) District 18 (Griswold, Groton, North Stonington, Plainfield, Preston, Sterling, Stonington, Voluntown) 860-240-0567 (c)

Senator Edith Prague (D) District 19 (Andover, Bozrah, Columbia, Franklin, Hebron, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Montville, Norwich, Sprague) 860-240-0543 (c)

Senator Melodie Peters (D) District 20 (East Lyme, Montville, New London, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Salem, Waterford) 860-240-0431 (c)

Senator George Gunther (R) District 21 (Monroe, Seymour, Shelton, Stratford) 860-240-8863 (c)

Senator Bill Finch (D) District 22 (Bridgeport, Monroe, Trumbull) 860-240-0528 (c)

Senator Ernest Newton (D) District 23 (Bridgeport, Stratford) 860-240-0589 (c)

Senator David Cappiello (R) District 24 (Bethel, Danbury, New Fairfield, Sherman) 860-240-0474 (c)

Senator Robert Genuario (R) District 25 (Darien, Norwalk) 860-240-0390 (c)

Senator Judith Freedman (R) District 26 (Bethel, New Canaan, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Westport, Wilton) 860-240-8826 (c)

Senator Andrew McDonald (D) District 27 (Stamford, Darien) 800-842-1420 (c)

Senator John McKinney (R) District 28 (Easton, Fairfield, Newton, Weston) 860-240-8800 (c)

Senator Donald Williams (D) District 29 (Brooklyn, Canterbury, Killingly, Mansfield, Putnam, Scotland, Thompson, Windham) 860-240-0447 (c)

Senator Andrew Roraback (R) District 30 (Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington, Winchester) 860-240-8800 (c)

Senator Thomas Colapietro (D) District 31 (Bristol, Harwinton, Plainville, Plymouth) 860-240-0475 (c)

*Senator Louis DeLuca (R) District 32 (Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Middlebury, Oxford, Roxbury, Seymour, Southbury, Thomaston, Watertown, Woodbury) 860-240-8865 (c)

Senator Eileen Daily (D) District 33 (Chester, Clinton, Colchester, Deep River, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland, Westbrook) 860-240-0558 (c)

Senator Leonard Fasano (R) District 34 (East Haven, North Haven, Wallingford) 860-240-0558 (c)

Senator Anthony Guglielmo (R) District 35 (Ashford, Chaplin, Coventry, Eastford, Ellington, Hampton, Pomfret, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon, Willington, Woodstock) 860-240-0545 (c)

Senator William Nickerson (R) District 36 (Greenwich, New Canaan, Stamford) 860-240-0465 (c)


The mission of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is to build the political power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community from the ground up. We do this by training activists, organizing broad-based campaigns to defeat anti-LGBT referenda and advance pro-LGBT legislation, and by building the organizational capacity of our movement. Our Policy Institute, the movement’s premier think tank, provides research and policy analysis to support the struggle for complete equality and to counter right-wing lies. As part of a broader social justice movement, we work to create a nation that respects the diversity of human expression and identity and creates opportunity for all. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., we also have offices in New York City, Los Angeles, Miami, Minneapolis and Cambridge.