Seattle Leadership Awards 2008

Seattle Leadership Awards 2008

A huge success!

Emcee Kate Clinton and Honoree Louise Chernin   (Photo by Team Photogenic)

Over 200 people attended the 2nd annual Seattle Leadership Awards on Saturday, January 12, 2008. The event, which was held at the Grand Hyatt Seattle, grossed nearly $60,000, doubling the event’s revenue from last year.

The program included the presentation of the Leadership Award to Louise Chernin. The reaction of our guests made it clear that Louise is adored by the community and has touched many lives in Seattle. Now head of the Greater Seattle Business Association, the country’s largest LGBT chamber of commerce, her work in the women’s movement, the anti-war movement and on civil rights has given her both wide and deep roots in the LGBT and progressive communities. Our emcee, the hilarious Kate Clinton, had the audience in tears. Audrey Haberman, Executive Director of Pride Foundation, did the pitch and had the entire room on its feet, feverishly writing checks and filling out pledge forms. Board Member Jody Laine and her partner Shad Reinstein produced an amazing video tribute to Louise which, again, had the crowd on its feet.

The Task Force owes a huge debt of gratitude to the dynamic steering committee that made this a record-breaking event. The committee included George Bakan, former Task Force Board Co-Chair and last year’s Leadership Award recipient Marsha Botzer, Jonathan Bowman, Louise Chernin, Bill Dubay, Board Member Sarah Fletcher, Audrey Haberman, Board Member Jody Laine, Aleksa Manila, Thomas Pitchford, Shad Reinstein, Eric Thom and Doug Titus.

Special thanks are also extended to our sponsors: Gold Sponsor Andrew Tobias & Charles Nolan, Silver Sponsors Safeco Insurance and Board Member Mark M. Sexton & W. Kirk Wallace and Bronze Sponsors Sue Anderson; Greater Seattle Business Association; Matt Foreman & Francisco De León; Don Powell; Pride Foundation, and UNITE HERE! Local 8.

Table Captains also played a huge role in making this event a success. We thank our VIP Table Captains Jody Laine & Shad Reinstein, and Table Captains Allison Beezer/Roy Hamrick; Marsha Botzer/Bill Dubay; Jonathan Bowman/Mona Smith; Equal Rights Washington; Greater Seattle Business Association; Board member Hans Johnson & Luis Lopez; Pride Foundation; Kenneth La, Commissioner, Seattle Commission for Sexual Minorities; Seattle Counseling Service; Seattle Men’s Chorus & Seattle Women’s Chorus; Eric Thom & Michael Curtis; Verbena Health/ Gay City Health Project and Ruth Emily Vogel - Ivy Law Group.

Lastly,special thanks goes to those companies that generously donated products and services to the event. They include Amy’s Limousine Service, Countryside Floral, and Team Photogenic.